top of page
  • By Rebecca Waddell

Writing Through 6 - Weird Stuff


When you're writing, you'll get to a point where you need to answer some very weird questions in order to keep writing. Google searches are your friend here for anything from how to dispose of a body to finding a bad pick up line or finding out what dragons like to keep as pets.

Sometimes Google isn't enough because there's no real way to research the cultural practices of the species of sentient hat that you just made up because they live in the underground reverse trees that make up your setting. As you can see by that sentence alone, getting weird is pretty normal for what I write. I've found from book to book that it's really important to have one weird friend who is just slightly weirder than I am to help me through when I need an idea that is just strange enough to get my characters from where they are to where they need to be.

So, this entire post is telling you that you're going to need weird friends to write through some of your challenges.

In passing, I will thank Laura Heffernan for her mention on twitter long ago (so many books ago) about meat cookies. She is not the weird friend who inspired this blog post, but is an excellent example of how important it is to have the very best weird support all the time.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page