top of page
  • By Rebecca Waddell

Writing Through 3 - Writer's Block


Writer’s block, maybe you’ve heard of it?

*pause for laughter*

Yes, I know, this is the third post in a series about writing through different situations. Of course you have heard of write’s block, and likely banged your head against its brick wall.

I’ve heard some people say writer’s block isn’t real and others say it crippled them for years. I have a shirt that says, “Writer’s Block: When my imaginary friends won’t talk to me” and another that has a picture of chocolate. The chocolate kind of writer’s block is the only one I really like. Bottom line, if you’ve done much writing, you’ve dealt with some point in time when the paper stayed blank when it was supposed to get filled with words. How to deal with writer’s block depends on when it strikes. If it’s paid work that has a deadline, pushing through might be your only choice. I'm going to talk about that next week.

This week, I'll focus on ways to deal with a block when pushing through isn't the only option.You have to evaluate the project and the timing and what else is going on in your life. Taking a break is another strategy to work through writer’s block. Yes, I really just said not writing is a way to deal with not being able to write. Acknowledge that you need to recharge and refill your creative well. Breaks are important. Breaks aren’t quitting, they’re breaks and they’re necessary. Take one if that’s the right way to handle the blockage in your writing.

Another way to deal with writer’s block is to switch projects. That can be another novel, switching to painting, writing a short story, or a poem. Maybe even catching up on blog posts about writing through different situations *shifty eyes* Ahem. Whatever project you do might feel like cheating on the blocked project. That guilt can be crippling when you’re already vulnerable from the original blockage. Be on the look out for it and understand that it’s normal and it’s okay. Go with the relief project until you’re ready to return to the blocked project.

I’ve saved my personal favorite strategy for last. This is the one I employ most often. I talk with my critique partners about the stuck spot. Or my writer buddies, my husband, my kids, my dog too gets an earful from time to time. My poor agent probably gets the weirdest messages when I’m blocked in the strangest ways. Seriously, I once emailed Jessica telling her I couldn’t find the character who whispered her name from a corner of my mind and ran away. I told her how worried I was about that character. That email spawned one of the most amazing books I’ve had the privilege to get to write. Basically, I’m saying that I ask for help from those I know I can count on and trust when I get stuck.

There are far more strategies for writing through writer’s block. I hope you’ve found something here to help unstick you.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page