top of page
  • By Rebecca Waddell

Writing Through 7 - 9 Ideas to Change it up

I’ve talked about a to write through a lot of blocks and stress using routine. Now, I’m going to talk about how sometimes routine is stifling. If having your regular writing time and space isn’t working, try changing it up. Even the smallest thing can make a really big difference.

For me, I recently dyed my hair for the very first time. I’m approaching forty in a couple months and have never done it. I’m very surprised at how happy the sprig of blue makes me. It's hard to see in my dark hair, but the bit of a highlight is perfect. It’s small and seems really insignificant in the grand scheme of things, but that little touch makes a big difference.

Here are 9 Ideas to change it up and see if that jars the cobwebs enough for some words to fall out:

  1. Try a different room

  2. Go to a coffee shop

  3. Change up the time of day you write

  4. Grab a pen and paper and go old school

  5. Go outside

  6. Go to a park

  7. Go and a walk and dictate into your phone as you go

  8. Check into a hotel for a small personal writing retreat

  9. Go on a picnic with your characters

These are just a few ideas for ways to change things up on a small level and see if a change of scenery helps you out.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page