top of page
  • By Rebecca Waddell

CORNERED AUTHOR FEATURING CAITLIN LARUE

First off, thank you for agreeing to let me corner you. You're my first pre-published Cornered Author interview and I'm pretty stoked to interview you, one of my very own CPs (critique partner). Let me introduce Caitlin LeRue.

Caitlin LaRue is a wife, mother to two girls, and a middle school English teacher. She has a Bachelor’s of Education and English from Seton Hall University and a Masters in Reading Specialization from the University of Maryland. She writes both middle grade and young adult novels. She is a lover of all things Harry Potter (Gryffindor with a splash of Slytherin), chocolate and coffee. She is represented by Kira Watson of the Emma Sweeney Agency. Me: I want to start out talking about #authorstats on twitter. Last week, you tweeted a very honest tweet asking:

What prompted you to start what turned into an authentic look at real author timelines and statistics? Caitlin: At the end of the year I get all introspective and part of that is “not being where I want” as far as publishing goes. I’m the type of person that sets goals and does everything I can to accomplish them. When things don’t happen the way I’d like, I tend to be super self-critical. Especially attending holiday gatherings where people are constantly asking, “Do you have a book deal yet?” I got the feeling that many authors are similar, especially since there is a lot of rejection and waiting in publishing in general. So I wanted to get a snapshot of peoples’ experiences. Knowing you’re not alone is powerful. Some authors have the stars align and snag the agent or editor right away. For most however, that’s not how it goes. Hearing author stories from them and seeing that it has taken some very well published authors years to sell their work is powerful affirmation to keep at it. Me: I completely agree. Total aside here, Critique Partners help so much in the knowing-you're-not-alone department.To say you've held my hand a fair few times on this crazy/awesome publishing train... Uh, well, so, tell me about your current work in progress. (Which I got to read and is going to be utterly amazing once it's ready for editors.) Caitlin: I am currently revising my middle grade manuscript about a boy who battles the House of Usher and it’s dead inhabitants. It’s a story about overcoming your fears and how deep friendship goes and I really love it. I’m hoping I can make it shine. Me: It will shine! How did you come up with the title and how attached are you to it? Caitlin: The House of Usher came to me from the suggestion of my agent. It’s always been a favorite Poe story of mine and I wanted to put a new spin on it. After working on eight books with two different agents and some editor suggestions, I’ve learned to never be too attached to anything that I’m not open to change. Me: That's definitely a hard lesson to learn, but learning and growing is a huge part of writing. What was your writing process like for this book? How does that compare to your usual process? Caitlin: I’m a pantster through and through. Typically I get an idea and the character voice comes first. Then I do a rough outline of the scenes. After that, I just write. I get the words on paper and then edit/revise to make them do what I need them to do. For me, I have to have the character first though. Until I get a good handle on them, I struggle with the story and then drafting is super painful.

Me: Speaking of characters, what would your characters be shocked to find out about their author? Caitlin: They’d probably be shocked to learn that I’m very introverted. I tend to write really strong, powerful female characters. Wendell in The House of Usher, was the first time I’ve written a character who’s really unsure of themselves on multiple levels. Me: Okay, just for fun, what's your favorite writing snack? Caitlin: Always coffee and chocolate 😊. Specifically Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups.

Thank you so much for letting me corner you today! And thanks in advance for reading whatever it is I send you next....

Find Caitlin on Twitter: @CaitlinLaRue

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page