top of page
  • By Rebecca Waddell

CORNERED AUTHOR FEATURING LAURIE WINTER


An unexpected friendship offers her broken heart a second chance at true love.

Today I'm super excited to have cornered LAURIE WINTER, author of the recently released HOME FIELD, book 1 in her WARRIORS OF THE HEART SERIES.

Here is a short blurb:

One year after her husband is killed in action, Julie Ellis is back in her hometown and focused on raising her young son. Then Reagan Harrison bursts into her life—a cocky, charming linebacker who leaves her off balance.

As a successful, professional athlete, Reagan believes he has it all. But after meeting Julie, he finds every excuse in the book to spend time with her. Despite his best efforts not to fall too hard, Reagan envisions a future with Julie, along with the little boy he’s come to love as his own.

While Reagan’s protective love begins to mend Julie’s spirit, she can’t suppress her continued deep devotion to her late husband’s memory. And when a letter arrives from beyond the grave, Reagan resolves to provide her with the answers she desperately needs to heal. Now Julie must choose either to keep her heart closed off or remove the lock and fight for a future with Reagan. Can a second chance at true love be just as sweet?

Here is just a taste of Laurie's beautiful book:

“Thanks for understanding me.” Julie softly kissed his cheek. The rough stubble tickled her lips. “Even when I don’t understand myself.” She went to sit in her chair to finish her cup of coffee.

At that moment, she noticed the kitchen. What an unbelievable mess! Who’d actually cooked breakfast…a class of rowdy five-year-olds? She gave Reagan a sideways glance, to see him moving the last piece of waffle around his plate, collecting any remaining egg and syrup. “Did you use every bowl I own?”

He was the messiest cook she’d ever seen. A huge pile of dirty dishes sat on the counter, covered in dried waffle batter and egg. Bits of syrup-laden crumbs dotted the kitchen floor, like a sticky breadcrumb trail.

His smile held no hint of guilt, and he shrugged. “Nobody’s perfect.”

No, not perfect—but he was pretty darn close.

Intrigued? Good thing I have links where you can get your copy of HOME FIELD and keep reading:

The Wild Rose Press: http://bit.ly/2tubrpC

Google Play: goo.gl/w1u46W

Me: HOME FIELD is a great title, what inspired your title?

Laurie: The title, Home Field, represents both the football and military themes of the book. Another reason I chose the title was because of the significance of Cottonwood Field, which is a place that holds special meaning for Julie. The field was the spot were Julie and her late husband fell in love as teens and remains important in her healing journey.

Me: Oh, I love the symbolism and continuity in that! How long did it take you to complete your novel?

Laurie: The first draft of Home Field was finished in about two months. I spent close to a year in revisions, and there were plenty of them. During that time, I relied on feedback from people in the publishing industry as well as my family and friends.

Me: Revisions can be quite a battle! What was your writing process like for this book? How does that compare to your usual process?

Laurie: Home Field took longer than my other books because it was my first. I cut my author teeth, so to speak, while writing it. Now, my first draft is more polished and needs less work during revisions. Not to say that they still don’t need work, and I still sometimes have to painfully kill off my darlings.

Me: Teething can be so painful, I'm very excited to learn more about your upcoming sequel?

Laurie: TRUE HORIZON follows Heath Carter, John Ellis’s Army friend, as he deals with his life after the military. He suffers from PTSD and has become a drifter. During a stop for lunch in a Texas town called Liberty Ridge, he saves the life of Grace Murray.

Grace has come home to Liberty Ridge and her family’s Texas Longhorn cattle ranch to prepare for her wedding. In gratitude for saving Grace, her dad offers Heath a temporary job on the ranch. Heath falls hard for Grace, but won’t act on his feelings. For one, she’s engaged to another man. He also considers himself not good enough for someone as kind hearted as Grace.

True Horizon is a very special story. It deals with PTSD in a realist way but offers hope for a happy and fulfilled future. I wanted the story of Heath not to be a ‘saved by love’ tale. Heath works hard to overcome his issues, including seeking professional therapy. His healing is a journey. One in which love helps smooth the way.

Oh wow! I look forward to getting my hands on a copy of book two when it comes out. *shifty eyes* I might just have to try to corner you again to see how the second release differs from the first book.....*AHEM*

Me: Okay, to distract you from my plotting to corner you again, what part of your life would your characters be shocked to find out about their author?

Ha ha! My characters would be shocked to learn I’m an awful speller. They wouldn’t believe some of the things I’ve had them do because I’ve misspelled a word. Good thing for spell check and my editor.

Me: Just one last question before I let you go, and this one is vitally important, what is your favorite writing snack?

Laurie: Give me a cup of coffee and anything chocolate and I’m a happy girl.

Mmmm, chocolate! I can get on board with that. Thank you again for letting me corner you Laurie! I might just have to do it again...

Recent Posts

See All

Storytelling

Storytelling is a labor of love. We writers don't tell stories for money. We don't spend hours, days, weeks, on projects that may never see the light of day because we want to cash in on our talent. T

Perspective

How we look at stuff is based on how we've lived. Duh, of course it is. If you know me at all, you know I love to find super profound things in super obvious things. So, yes, of course my perspective

bottom of page