top of page
  • By Rebecca Waddell

Two at Once


So, I'm a weirdo. Not that this is in any way news, just putting it out there. I often write more than one book at a time, though I my focus on one mainly and that is the one I will talk about if anyone asks me about my book or what I'm working on. When I admit that I write more than one thing at a time, I either get a knowing nod from someone else who does this too, or I get the head tilt to one side and the look that asks how that's possible and why anyone would ever do that to themselves. So, here's the reason: Because sometimes a scene hurts.

Every book has a point at which I don't want to look at my book or the characters for a long time because they ripped my heart out or someone had to die and I didn't want them to go. Or the thing I have written has touched a little too close to the painful memory I drew on to get the emotion right. Sometimes, okay, most of the time, the stone I squeeze to draw blood from is my own soul. Not that my soul is made of stone, but since I feel the emotions of my characters and live their story in my head and in my fingers and in my dreams as I write what they are going through, I just need a break sometimes.

It's like pausing a movie to breathe for a second before finishing it. Or like changing the channel to something funny because crying over a my go to show that is supposed to be funny, but the actor died or whatever reason, and I need to watch something else to just give my poor brain a break from intensity. Well, that's why I write more than one thing at a time. It's how I change the channel on what I'm writing and what I'm working on. It gives me a space to write without bleeding my soul dry. That's how I deal with the intensity of writing. What seems like a choatic thing to have in my brain swirl is actually way I deal with keeping the swirl from turning into a tornado.

And, just in case anyone is wondering, I wrote this blog post because my eyes ache from crying over a character I just killed off.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Storytelling

Storytelling is a labor of love. We writers don't tell stories for money. We don't spend hours, days, weeks, on projects that may never see the light of day because we want to cash in on our talent. T

Perspective

How we look at stuff is based on how we've lived. Duh, of course it is. If you know me at all, you know I love to find super profound things in super obvious things. So, yes, of course my perspective

bottom of page