top of page
  • By Rebecca Waddell

It's a Journey 1


Welcome to a new series of blog posts about my writing journey. I'm starting off with how I started writing.

Almost seventeen years ago, I walked into my first real, full time job and made a smart ass comment that led to my writing career. I began my first book. Creating characters was amazing, but I hated my book. I hated it enough to quit and burn that beast of a half-finished manuscript in a big old beach bonfire. My husband and I roasted marshmallows over its ashes as we watched the waves crash against the dark shoreline a few yards away.

Not long after that, I took the characters I'd gotten to know and gave them a new story. It's a crazy, twisted tale that I still can't believe I sent to my agent after I got to know her better. For better or worse, she has my very first mess of a manuscript that helped me fall in love with writing.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Storytelling

Storytelling is a labor of love. We writers don't tell stories for money. We don't spend hours, days, weeks, on projects that may never see the light of day because we want to cash in on our talent. T

Perspective

How we look at stuff is based on how we've lived. Duh, of course it is. If you know me at all, you know I love to find super profound things in super obvious things. So, yes, of course my perspective

bottom of page