top of page
  • Rebecca Waddell

God is my Author vs God is my Ghostwriter...


This morning while streaming church and listening to Pastor Jason give the sermon, he was talking about how there are many contributing writers in the Bible, but that all scripture is God-breathed. That's not news to me, but it hit me in a different way than it had before and I posted the pic above as my facebook status. At first, it was just funny to think of God as the Bible's holy ghostwriter, but the more I thought about it, the more I thought about whether God is the Author of my life or the Ghostwriter.


If He is the Author, He is clearly the One laying out the structure and His name is written on my spine. If He is the ghostwriter, He is the One laying out all the structure, but no one sees His name written on my spine. So, either way, God is in control and that is what matters.


I envisioned a life lived with God as the Author would be someone who leaves no question that they are serving God with every step. Be that a priest in the corresponding garb or a missionary or a Christian book store employee blasting Christian tunes or a street evangelist yelling about the good news. Whatever that may be, there would be so completely no question that God is the Author of person's life that everyone would know.


With God as the ghostwriter, I keep thinking of how Yahweh identified the men of His chosen people when the Jewish people were first set apart from surrounding nations and people groups. It was circumcision. Yep, there was cutting happing there. There was no anesthesia then. Yeah, that had to hurt. Not only that, but then the thing that marked Jewish men as Jewish men was something no one walking around would see. WHAT? YEAH! That is full throttle ghostwriter behavior right there!


I have come to the conclusion that God is the overt Author to some who are called and designed to walk through life with markings that make it clear to all that God is in the lead. However, there are far more people who are going about their days and no one can see that God has also guided and led them, set them apart. Whether you are walking around with obvious signs or not, it doesn't matter. Author or Ghostwriter, God is in control.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Storytelling

Storytelling is a labor of love. We writers don't tell stories for money. We don't spend hours, days, weeks, on projects that may never see the light of day because we want to cash in on our talent. T

Perspective

How we look at stuff is based on how we've lived. Duh, of course it is. If you know me at all, you know I love to find super profound things in super obvious things. So, yes, of course my perspective

It’s okay to not know

I'm sitting in the waiting room for my blood draw. I'm a pro at these at this point. Last time I came in, the one person who can always find my vein was headed out on maternity leave. Today is her fir

bottom of page