top of page
  • Rebecca Waddell

It’s okay to not know

I'm sitting in the waiting room for my blood draw. I'm a pro at these at this point. Last time I came in, the one person who can always find my vein was headed out on maternity leave. Today is her first day back. I wouldn't possibly know this if my medical history were different, but it isn't, and I have a favorite phlebodamist.


On a side note, I'm fasting, so I'm hungry. I blame all typos on that. 🤣


So, my favorite just showed me the photo of her beautiful child.


All of these scattered thoughts are coming to a point, I promise.


Last time I was here, there was a very entitled person who was agonizing over the wait. It was busy as all get out, and she was lamenting about the wait. Today, a man was looking to get his results because he thought a test was missed and he may need his blood drawn again. He had to keep looking up the name of the test. I knew what it was as soon as he said what it was for.


I am glad he didn't know. It's okay to not know.


I know because I've been through some serious medical stuff.


Just remember that when you don't know something, it's okay that you don't know it. It means you haven't needed to know about it. It's not something to fear or agonize over, it's just something you haven't learned yet.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Storytelling

Storytelling is a labor of love. We writers don't tell stories for money. We don't spend hours, days, weeks, on projects that may never see the light of day because we want to cash in on our talent. T

Perspective

How we look at stuff is based on how we've lived. Duh, of course it is. If you know me at all, you know I love to find super profound things in super obvious things. So, yes, of course my perspective

bottom of page