top of page
  • Rebecca Waddell

Shalom, Peace


Well, there’s something we all need. It is a greeting and a blessing and a salutation, all one word: Shalom. What it really translates to is peace be with you. Man, that is so much better than “hey, yo, sup” and the other words we use for most greetings. Its not normal peace like peace out or world peace either.

Shalom is way bigger than a physical concept of an absence of conflict. Nah, it’s this super huge spiritual level of being made whole again after getting ripped apart by conflict. Its a gift from the God Who made me. Who better to fix up and completely repair every wound I tear in myself when I tell myself I’m not good enough?

When my internal monologue becomex what we call imposter syndrome. Or when I tell myself how much I suck and how unworthy I am. Sound familiar? Because way too many of us are walking around beating outselves to a bloody pulp in our own heads. Look, I’m not saying peace is going to be permenant in this life, because we’re super not perfect.

However, peace that goes all the way to my soul is available. It’s going to be something that I want to pursue, but one shiny squirrel runs past and I’m distracted and lose my way. Guess what, that’s okay. I’m a human and not God. I still want to live out my life as a peacemaker spreading Shalom, lasting peace and the reminder that we all need to be made whole.


shalom to you. May the divisions in your life and in our nation be made whole. Peace be with you wherever you go.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Storytelling

Storytelling is a labor of love. We writers don't tell stories for money. We don't spend hours, days, weeks, on projects that may never see the light of day because we want to cash in on our talent. T

Perspective

How we look at stuff is based on how we've lived. Duh, of course it is. If you know me at all, you know I love to find super profound things in super obvious things. So, yes, of course my perspective

bottom of page