top of page
  • Rebecca Waddell

Thankful

I know, it’s a turkey. Weird looking ground birds that taste amazing! I’m thankful for them. Not because there is a day we Americans set aside to celebrate being thankful by gorging on SO much food its pretty nuts. Nope. This is about something a lot deeper for thankfulness.

This past Thursday we celebrated Thanksgiving for the first time without my dad. No, he isn’t dead. Dad has been in the hospital for about two weeks. Yes, present tense because he’s still there. He had surgery yesterday and things went well! I am thankful. Even without dad at thanksgiving, I was thankful. Because I knew if surgery took dad he to Heaven, we could still gather and celebrate the things we have as his legacy.

My dad is a really tough bird. Like an overcooked turkey, sometimes he’s a bit rough. He can sometimes be hard to chew on because he has lived a bold and hard life that leaves its mark. Dad is like a perfectly cooked turkey too. He is generous, he brings a smile to those around him. He has nourished my soul and sometimes makes me sleepy because he’s dad.

More so, the turkey is the perfect image for this post because I’m thankful to my Heavenly Father for my earthly father. We as a family will gather around the table for years because we belong in the same family led by dad. I am thankful beyond what I can put into words.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Storytelling

Storytelling is a labor of love. We writers don't tell stories for money. We don't spend hours, days, weeks, on projects that may never see the light of day because we want to cash in on our talent. T

Perspective

How we look at stuff is based on how we've lived. Duh, of course it is. If you know me at all, you know I love to find super profound things in super obvious things. So, yes, of course my perspective

bottom of page