top of page
  • Rebecca Waddell

Where I Went


Well, it’s time. It’s time to explain why I fell off the internet and social media. I’m going to do me to be transparent here and not be gross. The hardest part will be trying to describe what what happened and not be gross. Because it got super icky to be me.


Here goes: at the end of 2017, I was swimming with my kids and tore the abdominal wall muscles. Now, I didn’t know what had been injured for several weeks. Several doctors visits and a few ER trips later, I was headed to get a camera up in my digestive system as well as down my throat to reveal that I have a nice, healthy digestive system...


Did I mention the iron deficiency anemia? No? Okay, that was really bad. It meant I was bleeding somewhere. More than my body could replace. Yeah, kind of super not good. It was terrifying. Also, I couldn’t eat solid food for about a week in there.

It was my third trip to the emergency room that led to the doctor who brought the first set of solutions to healing the problem. I went in for surgery in March 2018. To avoid the amazingly disgusting part of what was wrong, I’m just say partial hysterectomy with multiple prolapse repairs. After surgery, I began to recover. The biggest thing I will never take for granted is regaining the ability to go to the bathroom like a regular person.

After a year of recovery, I was still anemic. Nowhere nearly as bad, but that still meant blood loss that was from somewhere. So.... I had another surgery in January and another camera to see if my stomach was bleeding and boom! I got better. I was recovering more strength when I got this little cough and the entire United States, and the world, went on lockdown over covid.

I bet you’re expecting that cough was corona virus... nope! I got regular old nasty bronchitus. During a respiratory pandemic... I think it’s my special truck to have weird medical stuff. So, let’s fast forward a bit to now. Still anemic. But getting better. I’m tired all the time, but stronger than I’ve been in years. It’s a long process and doesn’t happen overnight.

I’m so blessed to have amazing family members who care for me and an incredible network of friends who are just the best! My apologies for going poof. I’m working my way back to social media and writing and life. It’s not a quick road back, but it is a steady one. Huggles to all who read this.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Storytelling

Storytelling is a labor of love. We writers don't tell stories for money. We don't spend hours, days, weeks, on projects that may never see the light of day because we want to cash in on our talent. T

Perspective

How we look at stuff is based on how we've lived. Duh, of course it is. If you know me at all, you know I love to find super profound things in super obvious things. So, yes, of course my perspective

bottom of page