top of page
  • Rebecca Waddell

Wild Interwebs


Yeah, I know, it’s the internet....


So, let‘s talk about something important that sounds silly: stranger danger.

I know, that is a warning for kids...But is it?


Look, my parents had it a lot easier. They just told us to stay away from people we didn’t know and not get in cars with strangers. Those were strangers we could see, punch, run from. Strangers a locked door kept out of our home. The strangers I tell my kids to watch out for are on a screen. They hide in places designed for kids and teens. They lurk in private messages and have really bad ideas for how to abuse other people. And they are very good at what they do.

It’s scary as a parent. My kids have had deeply difficult experiences. They have scars from battling internet strangers. So do I and no one can see them. Just this past month, a guy slid into my DMs and tried hitting on me. It went really badly for him, especially when the troll did not listen to me telling him no.


Hiding behind a screen gives predators courage to do horrible things. It also gives others i credible strength to do amazing things. Just remember that it’s wild out there lovely readers. I strive to be authentically myself wherever I show up on the internet, but a lot of folks don’t. Be careful out there and don’t forget that you do not have to talk to strangers.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Storytelling

Storytelling is a labor of love. We writers don't tell stories for money. We don't spend hours, days, weeks, on projects that may never see the light of day because we want to cash in on our talent. T

Perspective

How we look at stuff is based on how we've lived. Duh, of course it is. If you know me at all, you know I love to find super profound things in super obvious things. So, yes, of course my perspective

bottom of page